Our team

Scaramouche - red swoosh


Alex Jacobs (Chair)

Alex is the Director of the Joffe Trust, a specialist grant-making foundation.

Alex brings 25 years experience of working in charities at all levels. He set up and led the award winning charity Mango and was Director of Programme Quality for Plan International, one of the largest aid agencies. He has a wide range of board experience and originally qualified as an accountant.

Alex is a life long dinghy sailor and a member of Yarmouth Sailing Club on the Isle of Wight.

Elspeth McBain

Elspeth is CEO of Lighthouse, Poole, the UK’s largest regional Arts Centre.

Elspeth’s career has been primarily within nationally important landmark arts venues, including English National Opera, the Royal Festival Hall, and the Southbank Centre. She began her career however in community arts in the London Borough of Lambeth, ensuring that diverse communities were able to access a wide range of arts activities. She is passionate about ensuring that young people have access to cultural activities.

She is now an enthusiastic sailor, having taken up the sport when moving to Poole and turning 50.

Jon Holt

Jon is Head of Sixth Form and Outdoor Education Lead at Greig City Academy, founded the the school sailing programme in 2014.

He has a passion for sailing and the life lessons it can offer students. Jon is never far away from Greig City Academy, Cowes or boats. Jon is the driving force behind the project.

He was YJA MS Amlin International Sailor of the Decade 2020.

James Evans

James has practised as a barrister specialising in commercial law since 1993 and has been based in Buckler’s Hard for over 30 years.

He is an enthusiastic sailor, particularly of classic yachts. James is currently a Cowes Harbour Commissioner and a governor of the Christopher Hatton Primary School


  • Project manager: Annie O’Sullivan
  • Media representative: Lou Johnson
  • Regular Skippers: Nick Hopwood, Amanda Mochrie, Cressida Robson
  • Regular RIB Support: Anthony Osborne, Gaye Andrews
  • Coaches: Matt Reid, Henry Blowers, Montel Fagan-Jordan